Tuesday, August 13, 2013

Love is the International Language

Wow it's been another long while since my last post. So here is something that has been on my mind.

A couple of weeks ago I went with boyfriend to a Nicaraguan family's home for Sunday dinner. That's another unimportant story of how that came about. But basically I went to a Sunday dinner spoken in complete Spanish...btw, I don't speak Spanish.

At times I was just completely out of place, looking around and even ran out of things to daydream about as everyone around me had a grand ole spanish time.

Jk, it wasn't that bad.

It was actually very interesting and I had a lot of time for some internal thought.  As I was forced to silence through language barriers there is something that surpasses all of those barriers. L-O-V-E.

Yup, that's right. I may not be able to understand all of what was being said but I could read body language and could feel the love that people have for one another. Hispanic people are known for being very family oriented and this family was no different. The grandfather when asking his wife a question would change his tone to a loving one and always address her as "mi amour" or "amour" and put his arm around her, it was the sweetest thing.

I mean just the fact that they welcome us, complete strangers, right into their home, gave us hugs, and fed us very well. We literally ended up staying there like four hours.

The beauty of it all was that I was able to realize and witness all of these things that you don't usually take notice to because your actually a part of the conversation.  Isn't it funny that I witnessed love without speaking?

Love truly is the international language and I wish I could take it to all ends of the earth because love does not always speak but it can be understood in all languages.

Ah, love. Happy day. Spread it around.




Friday, June 28, 2013

Nature calls

I have a desk job. I do most of my work on a computer screen after which I come home and sometimes play games on my phone screen for a while and then catch up on my tv screen shows.

Lots of screens. Too much technology.

I literally got a headache this week and my eyes hurt because of all the screen staring going on.

So I decided it was time for a break and time to get back in nature where the air is crisp and clean and technology is dead.

Luckily my dad had rented a very pretty red Mustang for a road trip he just returned from and still had a day to use it. So I went with my parents for a very much needed top-down-wind-in-my-hair ride up the canyon.

Man was it the most perfect trip.


Summer is off to a great start!

Monday, June 10, 2013

Im alive.

One post in 3 months...oops.

When thinking back on these past months, where I am now, and what the future holds its all just a big headache for me.

Not a headache as in a bad way but a headache because there is so much emotion that goes from one end to the other.

I feel like Im in the best time in my life..I have the best supportive and loving family, a stable and flexible job, the opportunity to go to school (yes I like school..im a nerd), a great boyfriend who makes me laugh, and awesome friends. Yet I have a feeling of stress of the unknown that seems right on my doorstep.

I dont know what the next step is in my life and it makes me feel a mix of scared, excited, nervous, and a little of another emotion I dont have a word for..no im not pms'ing.

Im hoping that someone reading this knows what im talking about and can relate.

I used to feel like I had life figured out. I had a plan and a direction and although I am still planning on that plan it seems lately that that plan just may take a turn but I dont know what.

Am I going into the wrong degree?
Do I need a change of scenery?

I sure wish I had that all knowing crystal ball in the movies that would just tell me.

Until then ill keep on keeping on.

On another note: summer is pretty great so far!

Friday, April 19, 2013

Lybbert Family

So I know I haven't blogged in forever but with work, school, basketball, and somewhat of a social life I think you can understand why the blogging got put on the back burner.

But life has been happening since the last post and I have had quite a few blog worthy happenings. One of them is getting to photograph this wonderful family!

Meet the Lybbert's.  They had me laughing the entire time!










Aren't they the cutest couple? :)







 Daddy/Daughter :)

Some of you might recognize the couple below..I did their wedding! You can see it here and here.
 And I am happy to announce they are still as adorable as they were when they got married, so cute!




Such a great family! So kind-hearted, funny, loving.. thanks for letting me do this!

Thursday, February 28, 2013

Everyone has a bad day once in a while

It's been quite a dang while since I've blogged. School, basketball, and work have been keeping me so busy I barely even see my family who I live with.

I'm the type of person that doesn't usually get down about things too easy but yesterday and today have been the perfect storm to just equal a very bad day. Most of the time I just brush it off and move on, no need to waste a day feeling sorry. But these past couple days I've totes given in and just felt so BLAH.

I think everyone can relate to these days. The ones where you just want to climb back in bed, the one where you want to just tell your sob story to someone and have them hold you and give you words of encouragement. 

the days when:

my skin is breaking out
my hair is not cooperating
I'm not feeling my outfit
bombed a test you studied so hard for
issue after issue at work
people seem to say things that make it worse
feeling overwhelmed at all you have to get done
plus you can't sleep
and someone cut you off in traffic

Wishing I had someone to just vent and cry it all out to. Even though half way through telling this someone, my sob story suddenly seems so dumb and I realize I'm really doing just fine. It must be a girl thing..but it's completely true. 

I even bought a Mountain Dew last night..
I don't drink carbonation so you know...it's that bad. What a sinner, I know.

I realize I'm not going through a crisis, it's not the end of the world, and what do you know..life goes on.  


So in conclusion to this little "feel sorry for me" post, we're all allowed to have some of these days right? We're all allowed to have those days when we just need to hear how great we are and move on. I really think that we are all here not only for our own salvation but also to help each other out. I know I couldn't do this alone and I certainly wouldn't want to.

It's important to be kind to everyone you come in contact with because you really don't know what kind of day they are having or what they are going through.

So here's to everyone in my same boat and here's to a better tomorrow.

Monday, February 4, 2013

Road rage at its finest.

As I was driving to work this morning I fell victim to the classic 8 car pile up in the fast lane because one white Mazda decided not to get over..we all know the story.

 So like the rest of the cars I passed on the right side and may have told him to get over through my window, (No explicitives I promise) which made him mad..hey at least he finally sped up. He then did another classic and decided to get behind me and tailgate..he showed me.

But what happened next reminded me what kind of world we live in. Up over his steering wheel came a silver (yes he was that close I could tell what color) cellular device. Wait, really? Yes. Really.

 Oh no he di'nt just insta that!!

 So, like optimus prime (*nerd alert*) I'm sending out a call for everyone to keep an eye out on Facebook and instagram for a picture/video of a black Hyundai. I want to see what he had to say about the incident. 

Help me find this and I promise ill have a follow-up post if I do.

 Happy travels everyone :)

Friday, February 1, 2013

No Work Friday

Every third Friday I get the day off due to the fact that I have to work Saturday.  At first, I didn't like it because I would rather have a two day weekend than just one plus a random day off. But now..I'm really starting to like it.

I seriously wish I could just be a full-time student and not have to work. I think I would definitely get a lot more sleep. But as reality would have it, money is the way to survive in life. Poop.

So on days like today, where I have the whole day off I get to be uber-productive and I love it.  Just this morning, because of a 7 am class, I went to class, finished a paper, got started on a book due at the end of February, and got somethings ready for a quiz on Monday. AND as I'm writing my laundry is washing away and my meteorology book is open beside me waiting for me to read it.  It's only 10:15 am. Boom.

I love it.

Another great thing about no-work Fridays is that there is no dress code on one's day off.


Happy Friday Everyone!


Tuesday, January 29, 2013

A Nerd Post.

This song has zero connection to the subject of this post. I just like it. So there, listen to it...or don't.

Nerd : an unstylish, unattractive, or socially inept person;especially : one slavishly devoted to intellectual or academic pursuits nerd

In my defense I totally have style!

Ok so what this post is really about is finding your inner nerd. Growing up, Nerd = not cool. Now? Nerd = totally cool.

My version of nerd : Someone who finds their niche and obsesses, loves, and puts time and energy into this thing. Can also be spotted if their eyes light up if niche is brought up in conversation.

My nerd = history.

I am sooooooo excited about my History Secondary Education major I'm a complete nerd! I have been loving this semester so far because I have both a history class and a geography class. It's like I'm suddenly starving for more learning....neerrrrdddd.

Told you.

It's bad, I totally got the fever.


But in all honestly and reality I am so happy because I finally feel like I have direction and purpose in my life. I have specific goals and dreams in place and I'm so happy and excited about them. Starting college I had no idea what I was going into or doing...I think most of us go through that. I can honestly say to those people..when you find the right path, it is the absolute best! It's as if life finally clicked and the wheels are starting to turn. Everything just feels right and I've been loving it so far.

Honestly, I'm going to have to work my butt off because history teachers aren't exactly in demand (which is why I'm going to minor in social studies) but I've already made some really good connections within the school system that I think will help a lot. Plus, I wouldn't have it any other way because of the passion I have for history. It's what I love and that's what you should do with your life..do what you love.

Well peeps. Back to the butt-load of reading for me. This nerd is signing off. Peace.

Monday, January 28, 2013

A Mid-life crisis at 22

My mid-life crisis doesn't involve buying a new red convertible  dying my hair, etc. Mine is more of a reflection on where I am in life, where I've been, and where I'm going.

A conference talk that hit me hard back in October was Of Regrets and Resolutions by President Uchtdorf. It talked about having different regrets when looking back on life such as spending more time with the people we love, living up to our potential, and just being happier. I love this because it just hits home so hard and is something I can relate so closely.

I wish I could go back and tell that 12 year old Marlisa a few things. 

I would tell her that she needs to have confidence. Without it she won't go as far as she would like in sports and even life. There will be people that take advantage of it and she needs to stand up. I would tell her it's ok to be a quiet confident.


I would tell her to start doing push ups...she has very weak arms.

I would tell her to work harder at her dreams but to even DREAM BIGGER. There isn't anyone to push her to do so and to show her all of her options, she needs to stand and take initiative and think bigger.


Ok so what I'm really saying on that last one is that I regret not doing all the things I wanted to while I had the chance. Out of high school I got two good jobs, started school, and worked my butt off. I paid for my car, phone, insurance and even saved up enough to move out the next year.

I was doing a lot better than a lot of people my age were financially..not in the way of amount but in the way of I was financially independent and somewhat stable. (I was still dirt poor)

And although I'm still proud of myself for doing so all these years and being able to do the things I have I missed out. I didn't take high school or the first few years of college seriously...grades show for it. I really think I could've had a scholarship.

I didn't get to experience living out and the true college experience until last summer. I also didn't get to experience the dream of doing study/service abroad. I really wanted to teach English in China but that never happened because of having a stable job and not enough money.

There is a much easier way to get through college and I wish someone had showed me that.


On the other hand, I am realizing this while I'm still young. I still have time to do these things. Granted, it will be harder to leave a job that is so good and stable but I've learned something...

On my obituary I don't want it to say, "She was financially stable". I want it to show all the places I've been, people I've met, and things I've learned along the way. I want to touch people's lives and experience life beyond myself. I have such a hunger for learning.

I would rather wear D.I. clothes and be able to travel than to be living large in my own little corner of the world. Priorities are in line.


It's funny because even though I would change things if I could go back, I guess you could call these regrets, I have to second guess that because if those things were changed would I be where I am today?
Would I be the person I am today?
Would I know the things I know having been through these things?



Life's funny like that. Anyways, here's to new priorities and resolutions.

P.S. for a laugh.. watch this.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Those Awkward Moments

You know those life moments when your face goes red, you quickly exit the area, and you literally feel like a deer in headlights?

AWKward. Awktown. Awkness.

A couple days ago I was doing a mass laundry day and because it was so cold outside footie pj's were the only clothing that made sense to wear.  Naturally, someone came to the door. At first I sent my little sisters to get it (terrible I know, wonder if it would've been a kidnapper) but then I soon heard a
"Is there an adult home?"

Poop.

So I walked to the door in my glorious footie pj's and found that an officer of the law was standing on our porch.

Double Poop. My footie pj's are about to be my mug shot...jk. Wasn't getting arrested.

He had come to ask questions about a neighbors car..weird. But I didn't miss the very awkward look I got from him when he saw me come to the door after asking for an "adult". Ha. Jokes on you.


Awkward Moment #2.

I was going to my first day of class, an earlier than early class, and was super excited that I had been right on time when I walked into the classroom with 3 minutes to spare only to find.....


....no one.

Yup. A couple minutes later the teacher walked in, luckily I didn't get up for nothing. This is one of those classes that is broadcast to high schools for concurrent enrollment or something like that so there are cameras recording him. 

So the class goes on with him giving this big lecture on the syllabus, talking loud, etc. etc. but only to me. Imagine what that would look like to a passer-by. I didn't know if I should make eye contact or if I should just pretend to be reading the syllabus or what...let's just say AWKWARD.


Life continues to stay interesting. Play on.