Wednesday, September 28, 2011

A Mother's Love.

I saw this circling around facebook so you might've already seen it but I think it is the neatest story so I had to share:

This is a true story of Mother’s Sacrifice during the Japan Earthquake.


After the Earthquake had subsided, when the rescuers reached the ruins of a young woman’s house, they saw her dead body through the cracks. But her pose was somehow strange that she knelt on her knees like a person was worshiping; her body was leaning forward, and her two hands were supporting by an object. The collapsed house had crashed her back and her head.



With so many difficulties, the leader of the rescuer team put his hand through a narrow gap on the wall to reach the woman’s body. He was hoping that this woman could be still alive. However, the cold and stiff body told him that she had passed away for sure.

He and the rest of the team left this house and were going to search the next collapsed building. For some reasons, the team leader was driven by a compelling force to go back to the ruin house of the dead woman. Again, he knelt down and used his had through the narrow cracks to search the little space under the dead body. Suddenly, he screamed with excitement,” A child! There is a child! “

The whole team worked together; carefully they removed the piles of ruined objects around the dead woman. There was a 3 months old little boy wrapped in a flowery blanket under his mother’s dead body. Obviously, the woman had made an ultimate sacrifice for saving her son. When her house was falling, she used her body to make a cover to protect her son. The little boy was still sleeping peacefully when the team leader picked him up.

The medical doctor came quickly to exam the little boy. After he opened the blanket, he saw a cell phone inside the blanket. There was a text message on the screen. It said,” If you can survive, you must remember that I love you.” This cell phone was passing around from one hand to another. Every body that read the message wept. ” If you can survive, you must remember that I love you.” Such is the mother’s love for her child!!


Monday, September 26, 2011

My inner-joker

not the creepy kind of joker from Batman
but the kind that teases and pulls pranks even when your siblings absolutely hate it
oops..guilty.

I have been playing grown up and sophisticated too long....a whole 3 months.
So with a mix of that and watching a little too much of The Office
I have this sudden urge to pull a prank on somebody.

My best one yet was when I was in 5th grade.
In Utah valley, you get to go to a camp called Clear Creek with your class for a week.
One morning at breakfast we were all sitting in the cafeteria and the principal comes over to talk to someone next to me.
His shiny pocket knife that is in a holster type thing is staring me right in the face.
So I slide it out thinking he would notice and it would go a little something like this:

"Nice pocket knife Mr. Cherrington."
"Thanks, Marlisa" as I kindly give it back.

...but he didn't notice...
so as I was thrown completely off not knowing what to do
{what was I supposed to do.."Hey I took this and you didn't notice?"}
So naturally I kept it.
I had forgotten about it at lunch when he stood up to make an announcement.
"This morning I lost my pocket knife..describes the knife..if you find it please return it for a reward"

Winner, winner chicken dinner.
Doing the touchdown dance.

So after giving it time to 'find' it
I walk into the teacher's cabin and give it back to him telling him I found it somewhere
{can't remember where my fifth grade masterful mind came up with}
Guess who had candy that lasted the rest of the week??

This girl.

Classic.

Now to find someone I can pull a prank on.
Preferrably at work but we'll see.
I'll keep you posted.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

I Love Utah

I just got back from the good ole' city of George.

St. George, that is.

I love living in Utah contrary to the popular opinoin of most people that grow up here.

I live less than a mile away from the Timpanogos Temple,
5 minutes away from American Fork Canyon,
4 hours away from a very warm getaway called St. George,
I can ski and water ski in July,
have a warm rain in the summer,
blizzards in the winter,
and everything else in between.
Who else can say that?!?!

My sister plays volleyball for Dixie State College
and my best friend plays soccer
so I went with my fam bam and took a trip down to see both of them.

It was so much fun watching both of them play!
And it was super warm :) ahhh...
We always stay in our good friends the Griffin's house.
My family decided to leave saturday so I got to hang out with the sis and have the house to myself!

Yes, I watched football, ate chocolate and a slushie all while in the softest blanket ever.
Me and Jen got one of my favorite foods...Olive Garden breadsticks
and watched a movie at her dorm until I fell asleep and got kicked out.

P.S.
As I was walking out everyone is outside 'talking'
mostly hoodrat stereotypical people
and one says
"ay hussy! where u goin?"
I guess he got the answer when I started walking faster.
AWAY!!
Sidenote: I was totally wearing knee-length shorts when I got called a hussy...yeah.

Not jealous about going to dixie.
I'll stick with uvu in all it's glory.

Anywho..back to homework and the real life.
A break was just what I needed!

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Dear Girls,

You are all driving me nuts.
Well, ok, not ALL of you but most of you.

Want to know what the secret to being happy is?
You.

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent" - Eleanor Roosevelt

This applies to those of you that are single and unhappy about it.
Learn to live, why don't you.
If your not happy now, what makes you think that being with someone will suddenly make you happy?
Focus on the within...not the things you are without.

You are beautiful
And I MEAN that!
Spend some time with yourself and learn to love who you are
(notice how I didn't say puff your chest out and being self-centered)
There is a difference.
It's ok to stand up for what you believe and keep your standards
believe it or not, guys like that.

The way you portray yourself (dress, attitude, etc) is the kind of people that your going to attract.
So all of you that think you need to hide yourself behind pounds of makeup and the latest, greatest fashion/hussy clothing..
you don't.
You do not want a guy that just likes you for your body/looks.

"Why blend in when you were born to stand out?"

When I was younger I was self-conscious, low self-esteem, and shy.
I would've done anything to fit in just so that I didn't do something dumb being against the 'norm'.
I didn't think I was pretty, smart, or cool.

But that changed when someone (a boyfriend actually) said,

"No matter what I seem to say it still doesn't make you happy. That confidence needs to come from YOU."

Yes, I was one of those girls. Yuck.
rude..a little. But right...a lot.

"If you try to be like someone else you can only be as good as them, but who knows how far you can go." (at the top of my page ^)

So I changed.
I didn't wait for someone to make me happy...I DECIDED to be happy just the way I am.
I love my undyed blonde hair, I like having long legs that are so unique no one makes clothing for them...haha ok that was a stretch but you get the point.

Be who you are and love it.
Whatever it is you do, do it well.
"Whatever you are, be a good one." -Abe Lincoln

Ok so this was kind of longer than I thought but it's something that I feel strongly about.
I'm sick of reading blog posts, facebook statuses complaining about how boys are dumb and they make you unhappy.
I'm going to do a part II to this telling you my feelings/advice on boys/relationships.

But this I think is important for all you females to hear.

Leave a comment below/contact me through facebook and I will honestly tell you what makes you beautiful.
Honest to goodness.
I wish you knew how serious I was when I say...Every one of you are beautiful.
And what makes all of you beautiful is not because you are one of a million
but because you are one in a million.

Love,
Marlisa Anne

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Everything that has to do with nothing

I guess I should stop taking 3 hour naps after church because I can't get to sleep 3 hours later haha.
It happens every sunday
Like clock work.

So here is a random post about everything that has to do with nothing:

Bucket List additions as of late:

Dust off my french

Learn spanish

Be a sports blogger/radio host

Go to disneyland

Ok so that last one wasn't really a bucket list item because I've already been there a few times
but I really want to go back
so I threw that out there.

Also, in biology the other day I decided that counting how many friends are engaged/pregnant was a much better idea that learning about cells.

Engaged: 12
Pregnant: 8

LOVE IS IN THE FREAKING AIR

Last item of business.

54-10.

Provo is painted crimson for another year.
I love rivalries...
especially when the good guys win.

Sweet dreams!

Saturday, September 17, 2011

A Ute girl am I!

It is not a suprise to anyone that I am the biggest Ute fan.
If it is a suprise...welcome :)

My dad played baseball at the University of Utah when he got back from his mission
(he played at Snow before that but who cares about the turkey town)
So naturally, we all have Crimson blood.
As a little girl I would sit on my dad's lap and watch the games on tv,
when I was 3 I got to travel with my parents and grandparents to watch Utah play in the Copper Bowl,
and ever since I've been a Ute.

The number of home games I've missed is a single digit.

Rice-Eccles has become a second home to me
I love the smell of hotdogs, the sound of the drumline, and watching the men in red.
To say I love Utah football is an understatement.

Today is the big rivalry game.

Red vs. blue
the holy war
the Deseret First Duel
byu vs. Utah

When I was in elementary I would fight with boys about byu and utah.
One of those boys went to jr. high and high school with me as well
so it's a constant thing between us.

No, I do not HATE him or byu...
Because I am classier than Max Hall
hahahaha if you didn't get that...you tube max hall.

My fondest memories with my Grandpa and my Dad are going to football games.
It's way past tradition, it's part of our lives.

It's so serious that it's one of the things on my 'future husband list'
he must be a Ute.
He doesn't have to be as intense as I am because well, there aren't many that are.


I am a Utah man, sir...a Utah man, am I.

Go UTES!!!

Sunday, September 11, 2011

They told me I would remember that day forever

And I do.
Everything about it.

I remember getting on the bus headed to school {6th grade}
and the bus driver had the radio up loud...it was talk radio.
I kept hearing over and over

"...buildings have been hit by planes...tourists..."

Ya, I thought they were saying tourists
because up until that day I had never heard of a terrorist.

Where were you when the world stopped turning, that September day?

When I got to school my teacher started class like normal
she told us to start our cursive while she checked some things.
She was listening to the radio.

I remember her stopping us and trying to explain what had happened.
To an 11 year old, you don't grasp the horror
especially when you don't know war or terrorism.

Were you in the yard with your wife and children or working on some stage in L.A.?


The principal came on the intercom and said some words, not many
and I don't remember what he said
but I do remember the somberness in his voice.
All the adults looked sad, lost, somber.

Did you stand there in shock at the sight of that black smoke, Risin' against that blue sky?

I finally got home and turned on the tv
every channel had reporters talking to people in New York
People of government, all kinds of interviews
but what I remember most are the images.
The video of two planes hitting two buildings I had never heard of before.



At age 11, I knelt and prayed and teared up.
Knowing that so many people had been lost in the flights and those who worked in the buildings.
I remember looking at newspapers for the next couple weeks
I even have cutouts of stories and images
I saved them knowing my children should know about it.


I've never been more proud to be an American.

I remember.

And I will forever.




Where were you?


Wednesday, September 7, 2011

100

This is the 100th post of this here blog!!

Holy crap that is a lot (well to me)

So I've been thinking about what to say in this momentous blog post
I thought about recaping the 1st 100 posts but as I started to read them I realized how weird I was back then....oh wait, I still am.
And I'm not going to go through 100 of my favorite things
because well...that's too much work.

So I've decided that I'm just going to compare 2008 life to 2011 life.

In the year of our lord, 2008:

My basketball team took 2nd in state
I ran in State for track (ya we lost)
I graduated high school
I started college at UVU
Got my first kiss (yes, true.)
Started coaching basketball (didn't go so well)
Sent off a missionary
watched my Utes go 13-0
watched them also go to the Sugar bowl and stomp on Bama!
Got my first car (poopy escort)
Turned 18


In the year of our lord, 2009:

Did terrible in college
drove to St. George all by myself for the first time
got my first laptop
went snowboarding for the first time
now that I think about it not much happened in 2009 haha


In the year of our lord, 2010:

Got a new car (mitsubishi lancer named ancer)
Sent off my 2nd missionary (see previous posts for that one)
Turned the big TWO-ZERO
Discovered Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory
Went snowboarding lots
played ball even more
my best friend April got married



In the year of our lord, 2011:
I started school again
I got promoted at Thanksgiving Point to Accounting Technician (I hadn't heard of it either)
Finished my 3rd and best basketball coaching season
and am loving life :)

Wow I've come a long way.

After the last post and doing this post
I feel better :)

Monday, September 5, 2011

Oh World..

WARNING:
This is a long post with me just writing what I feel. (Yes I did say I'm not going to but this subject I deemed ok to write about on the world wide web)
At some point I will start rambling and it may or may not make any sense.

Lately I've been down about life
and that's not like me at all.
Not feeling bad for myself or hating life by all means but just plain down.

Usually when people say little comments about how I'm living my life I just blow it off and not worry about it
because well I'm not making choices to impress them or get their approval.

That does not mean I'm living rebeliously either.

I work 2 jobs and go to school full time
I also coach during the winter
Between all of that I really do get some free time
not a lot but I do get some.

But the thing that gets people is that I'm not married.
I know I'm going against the norm
but it's not like I am against marriage and chose to have it this way
This is the way it's supposed to be and I'm happy with life
Yes, I still believe I'll get married...eventually
I'm 21! Geez this is weird to think everyone thinks I'm behind on life.

Anywho.

It just seems that I work my butt off to support myself and achieve my goals
but some people (even some of my extended family members) still view me as not going anywhere in life.
It's very frustrating.

I'm not looking for their stamp of approval
but when multiple people give you the 'look' or lecture you about it
it starts to wear on you.
You start questioning your decisions, your goals, your path.
I'm not worried about not getting married at all
I am in no rush but I'm not fighting it either.
I let life roll as it may
taking it all in.
But that isn't right I guess and I feel rushed by people to have a husband, family, and a blender NOW.

If there is anyone from outside of Utah reading this...I'm interested in your thoughts.
Even people from Utah.
Do you guys get this too?

Ahhhhh man.

Well that kinda felt good to write about it.
A journal entry with wanted outside input.

Thanks for listening :)

Time for a laugh.