Yesterday I did my annual Mt. Timpanogos hike.
Oh boy.
It was the hardest hike I've done yet.
And it's not like it's my first time doing it, I've hiked Timp before but for this year was insane.
We left about midnight and didn't start on the trail until 12:45.
We were making good time and hiked the crap out of it until we hit the part of the trail where the river crosses it normally but this year it was more like a wipeout than a crossing.
I couldn't tell where the path picked up on the other side
It was tough finding rocks to stand on to not step totally in the river
the water was as high as my ankle (and yes, I did experience and measure that accidently)
In all we probably back-tracked about an hour because not only was water covering the trails.
There was so much SNOW!
It was crazy, we probably crossed 5 glaciers and they just kept getting more and more sketchy.
I really wish I could've taken pictures but my phone wasn't working :(
But one of them looking something like this..
the trail usually runs from the right to the left about 3/4 of the way up but most people just climbed straight up it and went to the left.
This hike is already pretty intense and will make you sore but add in ice climbing and we are taking a whole new level of sore.
My body hates me right now.
But it was so amazing to watch the sunrise over the Wasatch mountains.
Absolutely breathtaking and rejuvinating to watch the new day break.
It made the hike going down a lot more pleasant.
I'll definitely do it next year but be a little more prepared than crossing ice in tennis shoes haha.
What an adventure.
I recommend it but be warned that if your scared of heights..
I would wait until next year when the ice is melted.
One of the glaciers you are literally putting one foot in front of the other because that's how wide the "pathway" is. It's pretty steep.
Anywho.
Check that off my summer bucket list.
Yes, I still have a lot more things to do.
Read it here.

No comments:
Post a Comment