Sunday, April 24, 2011

Oh Hello Bloggers.

No, I haven't forgot about you.
It's just finals week and seriously there is a LOT of updates to share but I thought I'd keep you busy with this one.

I'm taking Sociology online and we were supposed to post our own discussion question so I posted:

Everybody has a story about getting pulled over whether good or bad...but let's face it, mostly bad. What stereotypes have been put on you from a police officer? How does this affect you? On the flip side, what stereotypes do you think we give police officers?

I got some really funny responses.
This is how the discussion went..

Student #1: There is a cop in our area that gave his own mother a parking ticket. While she was at church. TRUE STORY

Student #2: I'm in law enforcement and there are some bad stereotypes given to us. I can say that there are fellow officers out there that are not power hungry and extreme ticket writers. I myself do not like writing tickets unless there is a safety issue or a good reason for the ticket. I try to be more of an ambassador in the city and teach people how to be safe and aware of crime in the area than to be the officer that always oppresses everyone he meets.


Student #3: Well Nicholas I wish more officers were like you. I am 40 years old and got two tickets in Provo last year. The officers are always so rude and ignorant. It would be nice to meet a nice officer. The first ticket i was running and late and speeding. My fault!! the second ticket, i was upset about i was heading on old state street in provo turned right to head to the free way, i thought the speedlimit was 50 as there was no sign, begged the guy to please gve me a warning.NOPE wouldnt do it. I am a law obiding citizen and lately all the police officers i have come into contact were just power hungry. I hope you are much better. good luck and stay safe!!

Student #4: I have been pulled over several times by cops and they often question and re-question my use of or involvement with illegal drugs. At first I was really puzzled by this because I have never done illegal drugs and do not think I come across as someone who is currently using, however my sister pointed out that I have always had dark circles under my eyes and I am thin, two things that seem to scream DRUGS to the cops. I am really bothered by this and resent that because I have certain physical traits I have to be put through the wringer about drugs every time a cop pulls me over. On the flip side, because I have run into some very rude and arrogant cops I assume the worst and become defensive when I am dealing with most cops, before I know if they are trying to help or hinder. I do think there are nice cops that want to help, I think that there are a lot of cops that are on power trips. I think because of the negative things they deal with day in and day out cops become suspicious of everyone. I have wondered if it would help to put term limits on how long cops can serve to keep the power trips and suspicion under control.

Student #5: I think most of the time if get pulled over by police is bad. Because every time when I got pulled over by police they are very mean. They do not even smile or try to be nice, only ask me to give them my insurance and license. So after couple times me always think police is mean and not nice. So if I see the police car on the road I feel nervous.

Student #6: My interesting run-in with the police occured after I had had a few cocktails at the local bar, and proceeded to go through the wendy's drive thu for some food. As I was backing out of a parking stall where I was told to wait for my food, I hit a lightpost. Immediately, people in the parking lot started pointing and laughing, so I panicked and drove away without looking back.
As I was driving home, I was pulled over for not signaling properly while changing lanes. The cop noticed I had been drinking, and pulled me out of the vehicle for some sobriety tests. As he was administering the tests, a call came over his radio about a hit and run in the wendy's parking lot, white female, driving a beige chevy 4by4. He looked at me and said, that's you, isn't it?" I nodded and looked down at my feet.
The cop the proceeded to follow me back to wendy's, where, lo and behold, the lightpost was crooked. After I waited for awhile in my truck as people decided what to do with me, I ate my food.
Soon the cop came back and told me to just go on home...he thought I was sober enough to drive now since I had had some food, and that wendy's wasn't going to press charges. I wonder if this had something to do with my skimpy party dress and dashing good looks at the time?? haha. What a great story though. It's a classic.

Student #7(responding to student #6): My ex husband is a cop, that was probably him that did it.

I had a good laugh.
Hope you did too
and if you didn't...

...sorry. hope you continue to follow :)

Stay tuned for epic news soon to come.

No comments: