Monday, April 25, 2011

The Big Two-One.

Yup, I'm that significant age of 21 years.
I actually really liked being 20 but I guess there is nothing I can do about it haha
oh well.

I had such a great birthday!!

It started off with me, Brandon, Jordan, and Erik going to IHop the night before but without me knowing they went and talked to the waitress and told her that at midnight it was my birthday.
So right at midnight she brings me some yummy ice cream and then those three start singing happy birthday.

As if that wasn't bad enough the table next to us hears them and suggests to the whole half of Ihop close to us that they should all sing happy birthday to me.
So after going over how to say my name correctly IHop sings to me.
I probably was a nice shade of red but it was cool.
I felt cool

I went shopping after a nice long sleep and spent more than I should've.
Oops.
But I rationalize it because it was my freaking birthday :)

That night my parents took me to a play at Desert Star Theatre (I love plays)
But I actually didn't like this one as much as I love Hale Centre Theater.
The second half was funny only because one of the characters just started improving and man, I was laughing so so hard!!
Did I just walk out after with no recognition??
NO. Not with my family.
They sang to me too. :)
Guy: Is there a Marlisa Hardman here?
I raise my hand
Guy: She is turning 21.....pause...You could be anywhere, but your here with us.
Me: uh...holla!

To top off the day Stein sent me a beautiful necklace that a cute, old lady made just for me in Nicaragua.
Kinda hard to see but it's beautiful and by far my favorite. I now have 2 sets of earrings and a necklace from a boy in Nicaragua. I miss him. It's been 8 months by the way!!

Stay tuned for yet another update on some really epic news.

Loves.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Oh Hello Bloggers.

No, I haven't forgot about you.
It's just finals week and seriously there is a LOT of updates to share but I thought I'd keep you busy with this one.

I'm taking Sociology online and we were supposed to post our own discussion question so I posted:

Everybody has a story about getting pulled over whether good or bad...but let's face it, mostly bad. What stereotypes have been put on you from a police officer? How does this affect you? On the flip side, what stereotypes do you think we give police officers?

I got some really funny responses.
This is how the discussion went..

Student #1: There is a cop in our area that gave his own mother a parking ticket. While she was at church. TRUE STORY

Student #2: I'm in law enforcement and there are some bad stereotypes given to us. I can say that there are fellow officers out there that are not power hungry and extreme ticket writers. I myself do not like writing tickets unless there is a safety issue or a good reason for the ticket. I try to be more of an ambassador in the city and teach people how to be safe and aware of crime in the area than to be the officer that always oppresses everyone he meets.


Student #3: Well Nicholas I wish more officers were like you. I am 40 years old and got two tickets in Provo last year. The officers are always so rude and ignorant. It would be nice to meet a nice officer. The first ticket i was running and late and speeding. My fault!! the second ticket, i was upset about i was heading on old state street in provo turned right to head to the free way, i thought the speedlimit was 50 as there was no sign, begged the guy to please gve me a warning.NOPE wouldnt do it. I am a law obiding citizen and lately all the police officers i have come into contact were just power hungry. I hope you are much better. good luck and stay safe!!

Student #4: I have been pulled over several times by cops and they often question and re-question my use of or involvement with illegal drugs. At first I was really puzzled by this because I have never done illegal drugs and do not think I come across as someone who is currently using, however my sister pointed out that I have always had dark circles under my eyes and I am thin, two things that seem to scream DRUGS to the cops. I am really bothered by this and resent that because I have certain physical traits I have to be put through the wringer about drugs every time a cop pulls me over. On the flip side, because I have run into some very rude and arrogant cops I assume the worst and become defensive when I am dealing with most cops, before I know if they are trying to help or hinder. I do think there are nice cops that want to help, I think that there are a lot of cops that are on power trips. I think because of the negative things they deal with day in and day out cops become suspicious of everyone. I have wondered if it would help to put term limits on how long cops can serve to keep the power trips and suspicion under control.

Student #5: I think most of the time if get pulled over by police is bad. Because every time when I got pulled over by police they are very mean. They do not even smile or try to be nice, only ask me to give them my insurance and license. So after couple times me always think police is mean and not nice. So if I see the police car on the road I feel nervous.

Student #6: My interesting run-in with the police occured after I had had a few cocktails at the local bar, and proceeded to go through the wendy's drive thu for some food. As I was backing out of a parking stall where I was told to wait for my food, I hit a lightpost. Immediately, people in the parking lot started pointing and laughing, so I panicked and drove away without looking back.
As I was driving home, I was pulled over for not signaling properly while changing lanes. The cop noticed I had been drinking, and pulled me out of the vehicle for some sobriety tests. As he was administering the tests, a call came over his radio about a hit and run in the wendy's parking lot, white female, driving a beige chevy 4by4. He looked at me and said, that's you, isn't it?" I nodded and looked down at my feet.
The cop the proceeded to follow me back to wendy's, where, lo and behold, the lightpost was crooked. After I waited for awhile in my truck as people decided what to do with me, I ate my food.
Soon the cop came back and told me to just go on home...he thought I was sober enough to drive now since I had had some food, and that wendy's wasn't going to press charges. I wonder if this had something to do with my skimpy party dress and dashing good looks at the time?? haha. What a great story though. It's a classic.

Student #7(responding to student #6): My ex husband is a cop, that was probably him that did it.

I had a good laugh.
Hope you did too
and if you didn't...

...sorry. hope you continue to follow :)

Stay tuned for epic news soon to come.

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Bucket List

I have never made a bucket list...well not formally. I've always had a life bucket list in my head but this year I am making a ...

SUMMER BUCKET LIST

this is what I have so far.

Wakeboarding (ya I don't have a boat even..if you do I'll give you my number :) )
Camping with the family
Sleep over with the cousins
Golf
Go fishing
Hike Timp
Hike Timpanogos Cave (sad to tell you I live ten minutes away and have never done it)
Learn to do a back flip (please feel free to volunteer to help me)
Ride bikes on Antelope Island
Finish my baptisms in every Utah temple goal (if you want to join let me know)



Well that's all I have for now.
I really want to go to Zions again this year or even Moab but I will probably try to do that in the fall when it cools down.

Please, feel free to invite yourself to join in on my Summer 2011 Bucket List adventures :)
AND if you have any more ideas do share
the button for comments is down there somewhere

also. watch this.
                    
Love and blessings. Love and blessings.