Sunday, March 27, 2011

Best Class Ever.

I'm taking a class called 7 Habits for Highly Effective People. Yes, like the book.
And yes I know it's not the average chemistry class.
I HIGHLY recommend this class for all UVU students (take it from Denise Richards)

Not only do I learn a lot about the subject and from the book but it is just the best class ever...as in the students and teacher.
There are so many funny moments and as we have got deeper into the book it has turned into a group therapy session.

This last class we were talking about Habit 5: Listening.
Seek first to understand then to be understood.
There were a lot of comments about how we have experienced people who hear you but don't listen
or the one-up-ers
or the people who try to fix everything instead of just listen and understand what your going through (boys)

We have a married couple in the class..the husband raised his hand and said that he always gets in trouble because he listens but doesn't really respond. His wife quickly agreed and explained her frustration.

THEN we have a couple that is dating. She told the class how her boyfriend tries to ask her advice or tell her about problems but he always uses the 'i just can't explain it' phrase so she gets frustrated because she can't help when he can't explain it.
Her telling us this made him tell us his side and they started going back and forth (not fighting just telling stories)

This other lady said that when her mom calls her she talks forever and doesn't leave room for her to talk so she will set the phone down and switch the laundry, come back and she is still talking
How awful is that??
The girl from above with the boyfriend said in reply that she thought it wasn't good because she herself wished her parents would talk to her like that. Her parents never make the initiative to call her and don't talk to her for very long. (she started crying)

OH AND WE CAN'T FORGET LOLA!!!
She proceeded to tell us that she doesn't really listen to what people say.
Direct quote:
"If someone is telling me that their mom died, I don't know how she died because I was watching someone get arrested behind them. If they want me to listen then it needs to be just me and them and somewhere where nothing exciting will happen."

NO JOKE.
Aren't you jealous?
If I told you everything that happened in this class this blog would turn into a novel.
I absolutely love it so very much and recommend it to anyone.
You probably won't have as great of a class as mine but the teacher and course is well worth it.

Obsessed

Obsessed: To preoccupy the mind of excessively

Recent obsessions.

These is one of these your either gonna hate it or love it. Me love it.

Somehow these taste sooo much better than regular reeses. I love Easter.

I could play this all day. Also a great way to work off those two I just ate from above.

Yummmmm

Also:

Date idea.
Clark Planetarium Laser Light Show.

It's $8 to get in and is so cool!!
You kinda feel like your on drugs and most of the people around you probably are but I was still fascinated by it.
So entertaining!
Sidenote: Don't go to the Pink Floyd one. It's not horrible but it's not as good as the alternative one.

There ya go.

Food for the soul.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Kids say the darndest things

"He was punching me so hard that I got the hiccups!"

"It was hard when my friend moved away, I forgot his name but he was my best friend." hahahaha

"Do you want to be my boyfriend? Cuz I say yes." -my 4 year old sister to a senior in high school

Neighbor: "How come you never play at our house anymore Emma?"
Emma: "Sometimes I do, sometimes I don't" (ya the 4 year old)





Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Cops.

You know how you hear of girls flirting their way out of tickets or getting out of it just because they are gorgeous?

Well I wish I had this.
Not the flirting part.
I'm way past trying to be friendly to cops.

Why you ask?
I shall tell you.

Times I've been pulled over:
1. He followed me to work and all the while was looking up my license plate I guess. He waited until I pulled into the parking lot to flip on his lights. TOTALLY CONFUSED! He walks up and says "Do you know why I pulled you over?" Me: "Uh. No?"
Cop: "My system says that you don't have insurance."
Me: "Well I do." I pull it out and show him.
Cop: "Well you need to show that to the DMV because it's not on record."

WTH

2. The cop thought I wasn't buckled. {I WAS}

3. I was speeding and he was really nice. TICKET

4. I had just got my new car and had a temporary license plate {it still had a month of validity}
Well the idiot at the dealership had written on it 7-21-01 instead of 7-21-10
The cop was such a jerk I literally could've brake checked him and he would've hit me..next time
Cop: "Do you know why I pulled you over?" -the ultimate cop pop quiz
Me: "Uh. No." (with a little tude)
Cop: "Your temp is expired."
Me: "I just got this car last week. The temp goes until next month."
So he informs me of the date.
I snickered and then showed him my paperwork.
Me: "I guess they just wrote it wrong because this car didn't even exist in 2001."
He wasn't too happy with that comment but it was deserved. Jerk.
ARE YOU SERIOUS?? Do you really think I'm stupid enough to drive around a car with a 9 year old temporary license plate??!

5. Again, I was speeding. But he let me off. Whew.

6. I hit someone. Not the best day ever. But he had to give me a ticket. TICKET/TRAFFIC SCHOOL

7. Guess what? I was speeding. And he wasn't so nice to let me off but he did write it for just 5 over and not the 10 that I was actually doing. TICKET


I've had friends tell me I should just kiss up and flirt but I just can't do it.

These all have added up to equal
i hate cops
so I refuse to bow down to them.

Granted, there are a lot of nice cops and I'm not disrespectful unless they go out of their way to be a jerk.

I have to sign up for traffic school for that last ticket.
Yay

Bet you didn't know I was a criminal,
did you?

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Love. Laugh. Live.

love.
I love love.
I also love:
Chocolate
Snowboarding
Basketball
Baseball
Summer
Winter
Football
Spring
Flowers
Rain
Fall
School
Family
Friends
Temples
Mountains
Snow
Boating
Swimsuits
Sweats
Peanut M&M's
....
oh so many more

laugh.

This one time we had a basketball play called the Fat Lady. good one too. One game my coach starts yelling it out but what he didn't know was that a bigger girl had just checked in and was walking on the court as he was yelling "fat lady! fat lady!"

This other time I was at a school camp called Clear Creek. My principal was walking around during breakfast and had a pocket knife hooked to his belt. He stopped to talk to someone by me and I thought it would be funny to grab it and obviously he'd notice and we would laugh. Well the second part..the part where he is supposed to notice didn't happen. So I just kept it not knowing really what to do with it.

At lunch he announced that he had lost his pocket knife and that if anyone found it there was a reward.
*LIGHT BULB*
CHA-CHING
So later on that day (I had to give it time so it wouldn't look supicious) I went to the faculty cabin, made my heroic entrance and gave him the pocket knife.
He thanked me and then showed me the bucket of candy that I could sort through and get whatever I wanted.
Ya I left with the biggest grin of my life.
Did I mention I did this in 5th grade? At age 10?
Troublemaker.

live.
Being able to walk, run, see, hear, smell, talk, comprehend, learn, etc. is something I've never taken for granted.
What an amazing blessing.

"there is a little girl in the stands that wants to be just like you..
don't let her down."
-words to live by

love,
m-to the-ar

Monday, March 7, 2011

Crush.es.

Not the orange soda...a CRUSH..ya know, like butterflies and a cheesy 'hey' when you see them.
I have realized that I have quite a few and of course they are on people that are famous.. so here we go.

#1: Ryan Reynolds
People magazine agree with me.


#2: Linkin Park
Ok I know this is an odd one for me but when I went to their concert a couple weeks ago..wow. Love.



#3: Rajon Rondo
One of the best point guards in the NBA, rich, HOT, and you should hear his voice..mm mm.



#4: Channing Tatum
Ever since Step Up it's been a solid crush. She's the Man, Coach Carter, GI Joe, Dear John..I will see it if he's in it.


#5: Stein
You knew I was going to do it.
BTW... it's been 6 months. 18 to go.