Thursday, December 15, 2011

The Accident

Ok a few people having been asking about what happened so I will give the full story now.
Warning: this might be long :)

I was driving home on a sunday afternoon.
Specifically I was going across state street (45 mph road) after getting off the freeway in PG.
I was waiting at the light when it turned green I did what most able citizens do....Go.
I did not gun it through, in fact, i hadn't even hit 20 yet.
Right in the middle of going through safe and sound, I see a small truck coming at me.
Literally I only saw it because it was right there.

I don't remember anything except for hearing tires squeling and I remember feeling my car run into something from the back.

He had ran the red light without even a tap of the brakes (according to witnesses)
He was going 45-50 mph and hit my passenger side rear spinning me a full 180 and sending me into another car that was coming the opposite direction. (sidenote: that car hadn't even entered the intersection..thats how far i spun)

THANK GOODNESS for adrenaline.
That stuff is amazing. and its free. and natural.
I didn't feel a thing for the next half hour or so while standing in the cold waiting for the police to be done with their report.
I was shaky though, really shaky.
My hands, legs, and my whole body was shivering...not from the cold, from shock.
It didn't even hit me how bad this was until people started telling me and making sure I was ok.

Literally I bawled for one reason: my lancer was hurt :(
I STILL tear up and shed tears because I miss her.
She was so hurt that I had to call my grandparents to come pick me up (my parents were conveniently in church) because I couldn't drive her home.
I had to watch her get pulled up on a tow truck as I drove away.
And now she's sitting in a tow truck yard all by herself :(
Love her much?
You have no idea.

But here's the very bright side:
1) If he would've hit me on the drivers side...I would be in the hospital.
2) I had the sweetest witnesses who gave me hugs and helped fill out forms to make sure he was at fault
3) my sweet grandparents were thoughtful enough to bring a blanket because they knew I'd be in shock
4) I have insurance
5) He has insurance - therefore, I get a new car OR he pays to fix lancer, AND he is paying for me to drive around this baby in the meanwhile (2010 Chrysler Sebring). Also, he has to pay for the lady I spun into.

6) Priesthood blessings - I needed it. Bad.
7) Doctors. I got a mild concussion and some really sore muscles - all very treatable and easy fixes...not fun fixes though. (ie. headaches for 6-8 weeks)


I have lost 2 pounds this week over stress - this happened just before finals - and the fact that the headaches make me naucious.
Besides that I get scared/anxiety whenever going through intersections or just in a lot of traffic.
You know in the movies when a person has a flashback of a semi's headlights coming at their car?
Yup, that's real.
I have that at least twice a day.

No word yet on Lancer, we are waiting for the insurances to go check her out.
I'll keep you updated and hopefully get some pictures of lancer soon.
But seriously thanking the big man upstairs for my many blessings.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Life on Cynderblocks

Yes my bed is currently standing on 4 cynderblocks.
My guess is create an illusion for more space while dangerously limboing a bed on them.

It's actually quite fun.
I really like a tall bed that even long legged people like me have to tippy-toe to get up.

Yes I have moved out.....again.
I really like it.
Love my roommates, love the location, and just like being out on my own
But lets get one thing straight:
I'm not the rebelious type that is so glad to be out of the house --no rules!
No, au contrair.
I LOVED living at home because I get to be with my family everyday!
I loved having my mom's dinner, no rent, and pretty neutral in location.
But it is good to be out.

My basketball team is doing good.
We have a lot of work to do.
I feel like we are still trying to find our niche and get rolling
but we will get there.

Finals are next week so it's back to homework I go.

This girl still loves life.



Saturday, December 3, 2011

New Adventure!

I have moved back out of my parents home.
Back into zoobie ville.
But just barely, I got as close to orem as I could haha

Here's the thing though,
I'm such a home body!!

I loved living at home
1) free rent
2) free food
3) around my familia

But I'm very excited for this adventure
Meet new people and just be out on my own.

It took me about 4 hours to pack up and move all the way in.
Yes I'm the worlds best mover.

Can I just say how convenient it is to live 30 minutes from home??
I forgot quite a few things including my stellar stereo but never fret.
I get to go home tomorrow haha.

I'll upload pictures tomorrow
but for now my warm bed on cynder blocks is calling my name.

Goodnight world!

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

To be good is not enough....

....when you dream of being great.


Yesterday I had an epiphany.
Actually just an attitude change.

I have been on the onrey side of the mood spectrum lately
and yesterday I had a moment of
"Who are you? Just be happy."

What happened to cause this?
I got upset with somebody for stealing....wait for it...
MY GARBAGE CAN! (from my office)
Seriously? Who am I?

So as a crazy lady once said in a sunday school lesson...
"attitude adjustment...turning you down."
yes..an adult woman said that to someone in my sunday school class.
Talk about speechless.

Life really is good though.

We had 5 dogs on the peremisis at one time for a week.
Including this beast below (the one in the middle, the other is my brother).
Just call us the dog house.

I love this girl.

Show 'em them U's!!!


Sunday, November 27, 2011

Old people are so funny!

Today I went to church with my grandparents
My grandma was giving a lesson in relief society and currently has mono
so I went to help her do her hair and get to church.

She is my hero.

She never complains and she has every reason to.
She has kidney failure, went through 10+ years of dialysis, a kidney transplant, a heart transplant, and even some seizures.
To this day I do not know a better cook.
Expect her to go above and beyond everytime we visit.

So after she gives an awesome lesson we start to head home
She said that she was going to go back in and find grandpa and just come home with him.
As we were waiting in their driveway for them to get home,
my grandpa pulls up....without my grandma.

We left grandma at church.

On top of that I had to go to the bathroom SUPER bad and the doors were locked.
Due to the laughter, I could not wait until they got home.
Luckily there is a gas station close by haha

So my grandpa went back to get her, when she got home she said,
"I was telling everyone my family is at home and laughing at me."
Yep we were.

Other funny quotes from old people throughout the day:

"I feel meaner than a junkyard guard dog" - grandma's neighbor

Grandma: "Why are you wearing your temple tie?"
Neighbor: "Is that what this is?"

"Oh that is salt again dummy." - grandma talking to herself


hahaha I love my grandma!
Happy late Thanksgiving everyone!


Sunday, November 20, 2011

2011-12 Sophomores

The 2011-12 season has officially begun!

I was itching for it and I am still loving it, I really have a good team this year.
For the first time ever in Lady Cavemen basketball history (in the past 10 years)
we have a foreign exchange student from Japan!

It is awesome, SHE is awesome!
She doesn't speak/understand english very well so half the time during practice I'm literally speaking jibberish to her.
But because she is so awesome she just watches for a minute and picks it right up.
To help make her feel included we have started naming our plays in Japanese...so far we can only say
"Ichi" = one
"ni" = two

haha all other words are a little complicated.

We killed the freshman but our first real game is on tuesday, let the season begin!

Sunday, November 13, 2011

My fight against unanimous cheering

First let me define unanimous cheering:
When a group, crowd, etc. practices or any other type of preparation for a cheer that is done unanimously by this group, crowd, etc.

Obviously I'm talking about cheering in sports {clarification: not cheerleaders -- the crowd/players}

Now I don't mind the normal "De-fense", mascot chants: eg. "Lets go Cavemen"
{for all those who might be outside of Utah -- yes, I am a Cavemen from American Fork High School}

But when you start making rhyming cheers just from imagination...that's most annoying.

Let's take the best/worst example of this unanimous cheering
SOFTBALL
Oh, boy.
Heaven help them.

Even when I was little and played, I hated and often refused to cheer.
Because of that I was critisized for not being a 'team player'
Don't get me wrong, softball the actual sport is awesome!
But this:

"Our team is hot, hot, hot.
Your team is not, not, not.
We're gonna win, win, win.
Your gonna lose, lose, lose."

is not awesome. yes, that is a real cheer.


This video is both hilarious and embarrassing.
It's ok if you don't make it through all the rules of being a byu fan.
I wouldn't either.



2 Teams that are KNOWN for this:

UCLA & BYU.

Ucla has their student body officers stand on a podium with a microphone.
When it comes time for a cheer they tell them which one and then count to 3 for them to start.

Byu's video speaks for itself.
P.S.
They sing popcorn popping on the apricot tree......

For those of you who just got offended because it is your passion,
just stop. Stop right now.

Learn how to cheer for your team without rhyming, a countdown, or anything like the above videos.

Ok carry on.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

That awkward moment when...

So I just have to share this awkward/funny moment I had yesterday.

I am one busy girl and part of going from place to place requires a wardrobe change.
So I was leaving basketball practice and heading to school when I needed to change from my shorts to sweats due to the ever decreasing tempertures.

I had already taken my shorts off at a light but it turned green so I had to wait until I got to the school parking lot to put the sweats on.

TAKE NOTE:
I WAS WEARING LONG SPANDEX

So I was not completely indecent.

I park in the free parking lot which is pretty far from the school and at night it is not crowed at all.
I pull in lean over to grab my sweats on the passenger seat and realize there is a kid in the car next to me studying....

big "UHHH....." moment...for both of us haha

Well there is no covering this up..my thought process:
"Crap, I could just back up but that would just be way too obvious that I'm trying to get away"
"I have spandex on it's not like I'm in my underwear...wait, he probably thinks they are garments (because they are white)"
"eh, screw it I need to get to class"

Hope he did good on his test.

On another note..
Basketball has begun :)
Soooo stoked!

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Something you didn't know about me.

I danced for 8 years of my young life.
I had to choose between sports and dance when I got older.
The one I chose is obviously apparent.

But I haven't stopped missing dance since.
I love it.
I love the expression and beauty of it.
I love how you dance in every mood your ever in.

Its beautiful.

Ever since I heard this song I have had an ACHE to dance again
or at least to this.


LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

{big sigh}

If you have an idea of where I can satisfy this urge..please do tell below :)

Monday, October 31, 2011

I can be crafty.

So I HAD to dress up for Halloween this year.
If I was going to do it, I was going to do it good.

I went to the Halloween store to get ideas and found this...

Christmas Story leg lamp.
$45
Heck to the nothankyou

So I made it myself..
My mom just happened to have this lamp shade in the basement that she had never used.
Because I am not 10" in the waist..me and my brother took wire cutters and cut it like above.
This made it so I could stretch it over but it still stayed up.
Next I went to Walmart and bought 1 1/2 yards of this black trim to hot glue on= $3

While I was there I bought some fishnets = $5

And for a total of $8 +tax I made a costume.



I quite enjoyed it and so did some of the customers.

Some people actually had never seen the Christmas Story
and thought I was just a random lamp.

I'm offended.


Even our dogs got into the fun!

Well that's enough Halloween for me..
off to watch Hocus Pocus! :)

Yes, I really am.


Sunday, October 23, 2011

St. George is becoming my second home

Now that my sister is at Dixie we are there like every other weekend.
It's pretty crazy, but pretty crazy darn fun.

I'm going to try to use as less words as possible because I am getting tired by the minute.
Long story short version:

Left work early and hit bad traffic--suprise, suprise
Got pulled over by a highway patrolman, coolest guy=no ticket. BOOM.
Jen sprained her ankle.
Ouch.
They did win though.
Jen sits on couch, icing, and taking medication. Occasionally snoring.
Me, my dad, brothers, little sisters go to Fiesta Fun.
Fiesta Fun=ghetto boondocks.
Go Carts are the best thing, I wish they could go faster...miller motor park anyone?
I took second in mini-golf..only because I accidently hit a light pole.
Played football on the Dixie football field.
We scored every time and I even made 2 field goals.
Relax the rest of the night, jen falls over from medication=who wouldn't laugh at the crippled at that moment?
Me and Sean (brother) drive home
So did everyone else from the break so it's more like we sat on the I-15 conveyor belt.
Longest drive!

But we made it home safely, I wrote a paper, ate more junkfood, and even posted this minimal word-usage that makes no sense to anyone else but me post.







I'm pretty awesome.
You should push the follow button.

Have a good night and all that ish.

Love,
Marlisa Anne


Friday, October 21, 2011

Your welcome.

I have some secrets to share with you.
Ok not the secrets your wanting to hear {the deep, dark ones} but these will become beneficial.

I discovered a pretty fantastic website the other day:


All you do is put your email in and your get an email everyday with their new deal of the day.
And it's not the average waste-of-time deal of the day.
I ordered this:
For $12!

They have lots of different, boutique-ish things for cheap..cheeeeck it out.

Also I recently signed up for this.

All you do is put in your shipping info and answer a couple questions about your needs/wants pertaining to hair, makeup, cleasers, etc.
and for $10 they send you a box of samples of different things for you to try!
If you like any of them they are available to order full size.


I am headed to George, home of the saint to watch the little munchkin {sister}
Happy long weekend everyone!

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Halloween Season

I feel like it's been a while since I have posted
but for good reason, I currently have all A's in school :) booyah.

I have a love/hate relationship with Halloween and let me tell you why...


HATE:
the fact that as a girl the only costume 'socially acceptable' is anything that is nothing=less clothes the better
i hate that you not only, again, as a girl, go dressed in your undies (barbie, duh) but you have to participate in skanky activities in your skanky 'costume'

and although, this might make me sound self-righteous, but that's just my opinoin


LOVE:
C.A.N.D.Y!!!
Hocus Pocus - no, not the spell. The movie!!
It is my absolute favorite, i usually just watch it on tv every year but I bought it this year and I literally jumped up and down! love, love, love.

Aaaaand that's the only 2 real things I like about it haha.
I'm the scrooge of halloween and don't care for dressing up
I like cuddling up in a blanket, eating endless amounts of candy, and watching Hocus Pocus.
Even if it's by myself.

I think when I'm married I'll like to watch scary movies but I hate it right now.
Even when you do have someone to cuddle with during it you eventually have to go home by yourself.

Oh and the weather gets chillier=winter wardrobe=love.

Happy October everyone!

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Fist Pump

Today is a fist pump day.
Get it on.

I just got an A on my biology test!

and before you start the double fist pump..click follow :)

Have a good day ya'll!



Monday, October 10, 2011

Goodbye Summer.

This is a follow up of the Summer Bucket list I made back in may, you can read it here.

2011 Bucket list:

Wakeboarding= no. haha the closest I got was paddleboarding and that was totally worth it! Love it!

Camping= another no.

Sleepover with the cousins=check. It's tradition and it's one of my favorites. sleeping under the stars are some of my favorite memories.

Golf= check. I got to go after work a lot of nights which was awesome! can't wait for next year!

Fishing = sadly no.

Hike Timp= a very cold check. That was an experience to remember read about it here

Timpanogos Cave = yet another year goes by and I have yet to do it.

Back flip= :( help?

Ride bikes on antelope island = i decided that wasn't the funnest idea ever haha but it's not completely off future lists.

Finish temple baptisms = also a sad no. Slowly but surely getting closer.


Total tally: Yes=3
No=6
and one substitute (paddleboarding for wakeboarding)

Wow. How pathetic am I??
I blame it partly because I got a promotion at work and it increased my hours significantly.

On another note...
..winter has hit Utah!
For now that is.
We are now to that stage where it goes cold and hot and cold and hot until december.
As long as the mountains have snow I could care less.

Here's to another snowboarding season :)

Saturday, October 8, 2011

Sister Time.

I have the cutest little sisters ever.
Period.

The youngest just turned 5 and is the smartest girl I've ever met.
She folds the laundry, beats me at the memory game, knows where everyone is at all times, packs herself when we go on trips (yes, she really does), and if that isn't enough...

when I went grocery shopping with her I wasn't sure what kind of flour my mom usually bought and guess who knew?
Yep.
Miss 5-year-old-Emma.

Well I told her I would take her to the Farm Country out at Thanksgiving Point and believe me there is no going back on your word because she WILL remember and hold you to it.

Well because it was rainy and cold we decided to go to the Dinosaur Museum instead, it was so much fun!

she was asleep two seconds after this picture.

dinosaur she 'built'



TURTLES!!

that shark head was awesome! I'm excited for Shark week haha...next year.


I can honestly say that I enjoyed every minute and love hanging out with this girl.
She is the sweetest girl, she still goes and gets me anything when I'm too lazy to get up and get it myself.
Love ya Emmy-lou :)

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Friendship of a lifetime

I have the blessing of having two best friends from high school
that I am still the best of friends with.

Aprilyn and Toniann.

These two girls are the greatest friends I could ever ask for.
April lives in St. George playing soccer, Toni lives in Salt Lake, and I didn't go anywhere..aka. Utah Valley.

We are all over the place and live the busiest lives but somehow everytime we get a chance to get together
it's as if we never skipped a beat.
It's just one of those friendships that stays strong no matter what.

It's kinda blurry but this is us in high school and just describes us so well.
April is on the left laughing her very unique laugh, I'm next to her making a face for who knows why, and Toni is the one on the right getting the chip crumbs hahaha :)

Then April went and got married last January...don't worry, we like Mike :)

Emily, April, Toni, Me


Me and April at Boondocks after graduating high school


Justin (married April's little sister, also our good friend), April, Mike (April's husband), and Me

Me and April at our senior basketball banquet

Me and Toni at April's wedding


The latest picture of us..getting all of us together now is pretty hard so when we do, it's always the best :)


P.S. Toni just got engaged last month and is getting married next year!! So excited for her!

I miss you both so much!
Love you girls :)

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

A Mother's Love.

I saw this circling around facebook so you might've already seen it but I think it is the neatest story so I had to share:

This is a true story of Mother’s Sacrifice during the Japan Earthquake.


After the Earthquake had subsided, when the rescuers reached the ruins of a young woman’s house, they saw her dead body through the cracks. But her pose was somehow strange that she knelt on her knees like a person was worshiping; her body was leaning forward, and her two hands were supporting by an object. The collapsed house had crashed her back and her head.



With so many difficulties, the leader of the rescuer team put his hand through a narrow gap on the wall to reach the woman’s body. He was hoping that this woman could be still alive. However, the cold and stiff body told him that she had passed away for sure.

He and the rest of the team left this house and were going to search the next collapsed building. For some reasons, the team leader was driven by a compelling force to go back to the ruin house of the dead woman. Again, he knelt down and used his had through the narrow cracks to search the little space under the dead body. Suddenly, he screamed with excitement,” A child! There is a child! “

The whole team worked together; carefully they removed the piles of ruined objects around the dead woman. There was a 3 months old little boy wrapped in a flowery blanket under his mother’s dead body. Obviously, the woman had made an ultimate sacrifice for saving her son. When her house was falling, she used her body to make a cover to protect her son. The little boy was still sleeping peacefully when the team leader picked him up.

The medical doctor came quickly to exam the little boy. After he opened the blanket, he saw a cell phone inside the blanket. There was a text message on the screen. It said,” If you can survive, you must remember that I love you.” This cell phone was passing around from one hand to another. Every body that read the message wept. ” If you can survive, you must remember that I love you.” Such is the mother’s love for her child!!


Monday, September 26, 2011

My inner-joker

not the creepy kind of joker from Batman
but the kind that teases and pulls pranks even when your siblings absolutely hate it
oops..guilty.

I have been playing grown up and sophisticated too long....a whole 3 months.
So with a mix of that and watching a little too much of The Office
I have this sudden urge to pull a prank on somebody.

My best one yet was when I was in 5th grade.
In Utah valley, you get to go to a camp called Clear Creek with your class for a week.
One morning at breakfast we were all sitting in the cafeteria and the principal comes over to talk to someone next to me.
His shiny pocket knife that is in a holster type thing is staring me right in the face.
So I slide it out thinking he would notice and it would go a little something like this:

"Nice pocket knife Mr. Cherrington."
"Thanks, Marlisa" as I kindly give it back.

...but he didn't notice...
so as I was thrown completely off not knowing what to do
{what was I supposed to do.."Hey I took this and you didn't notice?"}
So naturally I kept it.
I had forgotten about it at lunch when he stood up to make an announcement.
"This morning I lost my pocket knife..describes the knife..if you find it please return it for a reward"

Winner, winner chicken dinner.
Doing the touchdown dance.

So after giving it time to 'find' it
I walk into the teacher's cabin and give it back to him telling him I found it somewhere
{can't remember where my fifth grade masterful mind came up with}
Guess who had candy that lasted the rest of the week??

This girl.

Classic.

Now to find someone I can pull a prank on.
Preferrably at work but we'll see.
I'll keep you posted.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

I Love Utah

I just got back from the good ole' city of George.

St. George, that is.

I love living in Utah contrary to the popular opinoin of most people that grow up here.

I live less than a mile away from the Timpanogos Temple,
5 minutes away from American Fork Canyon,
4 hours away from a very warm getaway called St. George,
I can ski and water ski in July,
have a warm rain in the summer,
blizzards in the winter,
and everything else in between.
Who else can say that?!?!

My sister plays volleyball for Dixie State College
and my best friend plays soccer
so I went with my fam bam and took a trip down to see both of them.

It was so much fun watching both of them play!
And it was super warm :) ahhh...
We always stay in our good friends the Griffin's house.
My family decided to leave saturday so I got to hang out with the sis and have the house to myself!

Yes, I watched football, ate chocolate and a slushie all while in the softest blanket ever.
Me and Jen got one of my favorite foods...Olive Garden breadsticks
and watched a movie at her dorm until I fell asleep and got kicked out.

P.S.
As I was walking out everyone is outside 'talking'
mostly hoodrat stereotypical people
and one says
"ay hussy! where u goin?"
I guess he got the answer when I started walking faster.
AWAY!!
Sidenote: I was totally wearing knee-length shorts when I got called a hussy...yeah.

Not jealous about going to dixie.
I'll stick with uvu in all it's glory.

Anywho..back to homework and the real life.
A break was just what I needed!

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Dear Girls,

You are all driving me nuts.
Well, ok, not ALL of you but most of you.

Want to know what the secret to being happy is?
You.

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent" - Eleanor Roosevelt

This applies to those of you that are single and unhappy about it.
Learn to live, why don't you.
If your not happy now, what makes you think that being with someone will suddenly make you happy?
Focus on the within...not the things you are without.

You are beautiful
And I MEAN that!
Spend some time with yourself and learn to love who you are
(notice how I didn't say puff your chest out and being self-centered)
There is a difference.
It's ok to stand up for what you believe and keep your standards
believe it or not, guys like that.

The way you portray yourself (dress, attitude, etc) is the kind of people that your going to attract.
So all of you that think you need to hide yourself behind pounds of makeup and the latest, greatest fashion/hussy clothing..
you don't.
You do not want a guy that just likes you for your body/looks.

"Why blend in when you were born to stand out?"

When I was younger I was self-conscious, low self-esteem, and shy.
I would've done anything to fit in just so that I didn't do something dumb being against the 'norm'.
I didn't think I was pretty, smart, or cool.

But that changed when someone (a boyfriend actually) said,

"No matter what I seem to say it still doesn't make you happy. That confidence needs to come from YOU."

Yes, I was one of those girls. Yuck.
rude..a little. But right...a lot.

"If you try to be like someone else you can only be as good as them, but who knows how far you can go." (at the top of my page ^)

So I changed.
I didn't wait for someone to make me happy...I DECIDED to be happy just the way I am.
I love my undyed blonde hair, I like having long legs that are so unique no one makes clothing for them...haha ok that was a stretch but you get the point.

Be who you are and love it.
Whatever it is you do, do it well.
"Whatever you are, be a good one." -Abe Lincoln

Ok so this was kind of longer than I thought but it's something that I feel strongly about.
I'm sick of reading blog posts, facebook statuses complaining about how boys are dumb and they make you unhappy.
I'm going to do a part II to this telling you my feelings/advice on boys/relationships.

But this I think is important for all you females to hear.

Leave a comment below/contact me through facebook and I will honestly tell you what makes you beautiful.
Honest to goodness.
I wish you knew how serious I was when I say...Every one of you are beautiful.
And what makes all of you beautiful is not because you are one of a million
but because you are one in a million.

Love,
Marlisa Anne

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Everything that has to do with nothing

I guess I should stop taking 3 hour naps after church because I can't get to sleep 3 hours later haha.
It happens every sunday
Like clock work.

So here is a random post about everything that has to do with nothing:

Bucket List additions as of late:

Dust off my french

Learn spanish

Be a sports blogger/radio host

Go to disneyland

Ok so that last one wasn't really a bucket list item because I've already been there a few times
but I really want to go back
so I threw that out there.

Also, in biology the other day I decided that counting how many friends are engaged/pregnant was a much better idea that learning about cells.

Engaged: 12
Pregnant: 8

LOVE IS IN THE FREAKING AIR

Last item of business.

54-10.

Provo is painted crimson for another year.
I love rivalries...
especially when the good guys win.

Sweet dreams!

Saturday, September 17, 2011

A Ute girl am I!

It is not a suprise to anyone that I am the biggest Ute fan.
If it is a suprise...welcome :)

My dad played baseball at the University of Utah when he got back from his mission
(he played at Snow before that but who cares about the turkey town)
So naturally, we all have Crimson blood.
As a little girl I would sit on my dad's lap and watch the games on tv,
when I was 3 I got to travel with my parents and grandparents to watch Utah play in the Copper Bowl,
and ever since I've been a Ute.

The number of home games I've missed is a single digit.

Rice-Eccles has become a second home to me
I love the smell of hotdogs, the sound of the drumline, and watching the men in red.
To say I love Utah football is an understatement.

Today is the big rivalry game.

Red vs. blue
the holy war
the Deseret First Duel
byu vs. Utah

When I was in elementary I would fight with boys about byu and utah.
One of those boys went to jr. high and high school with me as well
so it's a constant thing between us.

No, I do not HATE him or byu...
Because I am classier than Max Hall
hahahaha if you didn't get that...you tube max hall.

My fondest memories with my Grandpa and my Dad are going to football games.
It's way past tradition, it's part of our lives.

It's so serious that it's one of the things on my 'future husband list'
he must be a Ute.
He doesn't have to be as intense as I am because well, there aren't many that are.


I am a Utah man, sir...a Utah man, am I.

Go UTES!!!

Sunday, September 11, 2011

They told me I would remember that day forever

And I do.
Everything about it.

I remember getting on the bus headed to school {6th grade}
and the bus driver had the radio up loud...it was talk radio.
I kept hearing over and over

"...buildings have been hit by planes...tourists..."

Ya, I thought they were saying tourists
because up until that day I had never heard of a terrorist.

Where were you when the world stopped turning, that September day?

When I got to school my teacher started class like normal
she told us to start our cursive while she checked some things.
She was listening to the radio.

I remember her stopping us and trying to explain what had happened.
To an 11 year old, you don't grasp the horror
especially when you don't know war or terrorism.

Were you in the yard with your wife and children or working on some stage in L.A.?


The principal came on the intercom and said some words, not many
and I don't remember what he said
but I do remember the somberness in his voice.
All the adults looked sad, lost, somber.

Did you stand there in shock at the sight of that black smoke, Risin' against that blue sky?

I finally got home and turned on the tv
every channel had reporters talking to people in New York
People of government, all kinds of interviews
but what I remember most are the images.
The video of two planes hitting two buildings I had never heard of before.



At age 11, I knelt and prayed and teared up.
Knowing that so many people had been lost in the flights and those who worked in the buildings.
I remember looking at newspapers for the next couple weeks
I even have cutouts of stories and images
I saved them knowing my children should know about it.


I've never been more proud to be an American.

I remember.

And I will forever.




Where were you?


Wednesday, September 7, 2011

100

This is the 100th post of this here blog!!

Holy crap that is a lot (well to me)

So I've been thinking about what to say in this momentous blog post
I thought about recaping the 1st 100 posts but as I started to read them I realized how weird I was back then....oh wait, I still am.
And I'm not going to go through 100 of my favorite things
because well...that's too much work.

So I've decided that I'm just going to compare 2008 life to 2011 life.

In the year of our lord, 2008:

My basketball team took 2nd in state
I ran in State for track (ya we lost)
I graduated high school
I started college at UVU
Got my first kiss (yes, true.)
Started coaching basketball (didn't go so well)
Sent off a missionary
watched my Utes go 13-0
watched them also go to the Sugar bowl and stomp on Bama!
Got my first car (poopy escort)
Turned 18


In the year of our lord, 2009:

Did terrible in college
drove to St. George all by myself for the first time
got my first laptop
went snowboarding for the first time
now that I think about it not much happened in 2009 haha


In the year of our lord, 2010:

Got a new car (mitsubishi lancer named ancer)
Sent off my 2nd missionary (see previous posts for that one)
Turned the big TWO-ZERO
Discovered Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory
Went snowboarding lots
played ball even more
my best friend April got married



In the year of our lord, 2011:
I started school again
I got promoted at Thanksgiving Point to Accounting Technician (I hadn't heard of it either)
Finished my 3rd and best basketball coaching season
and am loving life :)

Wow I've come a long way.

After the last post and doing this post
I feel better :)