Tuesday, January 29, 2013

A Nerd Post.

This song has zero connection to the subject of this post. I just like it. So there, listen to it...or don't.

Nerd : an unstylish, unattractive, or socially inept person;especially : one slavishly devoted to intellectual or academic pursuits nerd

In my defense I totally have style!

Ok so what this post is really about is finding your inner nerd. Growing up, Nerd = not cool. Now? Nerd = totally cool.

My version of nerd : Someone who finds their niche and obsesses, loves, and puts time and energy into this thing. Can also be spotted if their eyes light up if niche is brought up in conversation.

My nerd = history.

I am sooooooo excited about my History Secondary Education major I'm a complete nerd! I have been loving this semester so far because I have both a history class and a geography class. It's like I'm suddenly starving for more learning....neerrrrdddd.

Told you.

It's bad, I totally got the fever.


But in all honestly and reality I am so happy because I finally feel like I have direction and purpose in my life. I have specific goals and dreams in place and I'm so happy and excited about them. Starting college I had no idea what I was going into or doing...I think most of us go through that. I can honestly say to those people..when you find the right path, it is the absolute best! It's as if life finally clicked and the wheels are starting to turn. Everything just feels right and I've been loving it so far.

Honestly, I'm going to have to work my butt off because history teachers aren't exactly in demand (which is why I'm going to minor in social studies) but I've already made some really good connections within the school system that I think will help a lot. Plus, I wouldn't have it any other way because of the passion I have for history. It's what I love and that's what you should do with your life..do what you love.

Well peeps. Back to the butt-load of reading for me. This nerd is signing off. Peace.

Monday, January 28, 2013

A Mid-life crisis at 22

My mid-life crisis doesn't involve buying a new red convertible  dying my hair, etc. Mine is more of a reflection on where I am in life, where I've been, and where I'm going.

A conference talk that hit me hard back in October was Of Regrets and Resolutions by President Uchtdorf. It talked about having different regrets when looking back on life such as spending more time with the people we love, living up to our potential, and just being happier. I love this because it just hits home so hard and is something I can relate so closely.

I wish I could go back and tell that 12 year old Marlisa a few things. 

I would tell her that she needs to have confidence. Without it she won't go as far as she would like in sports and even life. There will be people that take advantage of it and she needs to stand up. I would tell her it's ok to be a quiet confident.


I would tell her to start doing push ups...she has very weak arms.

I would tell her to work harder at her dreams but to even DREAM BIGGER. There isn't anyone to push her to do so and to show her all of her options, she needs to stand and take initiative and think bigger.


Ok so what I'm really saying on that last one is that I regret not doing all the things I wanted to while I had the chance. Out of high school I got two good jobs, started school, and worked my butt off. I paid for my car, phone, insurance and even saved up enough to move out the next year.

I was doing a lot better than a lot of people my age were financially..not in the way of amount but in the way of I was financially independent and somewhat stable. (I was still dirt poor)

And although I'm still proud of myself for doing so all these years and being able to do the things I have I missed out. I didn't take high school or the first few years of college seriously...grades show for it. I really think I could've had a scholarship.

I didn't get to experience living out and the true college experience until last summer. I also didn't get to experience the dream of doing study/service abroad. I really wanted to teach English in China but that never happened because of having a stable job and not enough money.

There is a much easier way to get through college and I wish someone had showed me that.


On the other hand, I am realizing this while I'm still young. I still have time to do these things. Granted, it will be harder to leave a job that is so good and stable but I've learned something...

On my obituary I don't want it to say, "She was financially stable". I want it to show all the places I've been, people I've met, and things I've learned along the way. I want to touch people's lives and experience life beyond myself. I have such a hunger for learning.

I would rather wear D.I. clothes and be able to travel than to be living large in my own little corner of the world. Priorities are in line.


It's funny because even though I would change things if I could go back, I guess you could call these regrets, I have to second guess that because if those things were changed would I be where I am today?
Would I be the person I am today?
Would I know the things I know having been through these things?



Life's funny like that. Anyways, here's to new priorities and resolutions.

P.S. for a laugh.. watch this.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Those Awkward Moments

You know those life moments when your face goes red, you quickly exit the area, and you literally feel like a deer in headlights?

AWKward. Awktown. Awkness.

A couple days ago I was doing a mass laundry day and because it was so cold outside footie pj's were the only clothing that made sense to wear.  Naturally, someone came to the door. At first I sent my little sisters to get it (terrible I know, wonder if it would've been a kidnapper) but then I soon heard a
"Is there an adult home?"

Poop.

So I walked to the door in my glorious footie pj's and found that an officer of the law was standing on our porch.

Double Poop. My footie pj's are about to be my mug shot...jk. Wasn't getting arrested.

He had come to ask questions about a neighbors car..weird. But I didn't miss the very awkward look I got from him when he saw me come to the door after asking for an "adult". Ha. Jokes on you.


Awkward Moment #2.

I was going to my first day of class, an earlier than early class, and was super excited that I had been right on time when I walked into the classroom with 3 minutes to spare only to find.....


....no one.

Yup. A couple minutes later the teacher walked in, luckily I didn't get up for nothing. This is one of those classes that is broadcast to high schools for concurrent enrollment or something like that so there are cameras recording him. 

So the class goes on with him giving this big lecture on the syllabus, talking loud, etc. etc. but only to me. Imagine what that would look like to a passer-by. I didn't know if I should make eye contact or if I should just pretend to be reading the syllabus or what...let's just say AWKWARD.


Life continues to stay interesting. Play on.