This trip of a lifetime has officially started (actually I'm on day 3 but I just got wifi)
Fair warning: I am a complete history nerd so obviously this trip is like heaven every day. I'm sorry if some of these get lengthy, I could talk about this trip for hours and as long as some of these might get, there is still a lot that I'm leaving out...your welcome, enjoy!
Ok so Day 1 Adventures.
We had a straight shot red-eye flight to JFK airport {NEW YORK CITY}
and arrived there at 5:30 am.
It was gorgeous!! Such a pretty view to watch the sun rise on the ocean and New York City.
After walking around with the word "LOST" on our forehead we finally found our way to the car rentals who conveniently rented us a Dodge Avenger. Not too shabby.
We borrow a gps system from our cousins and the most popular word she says so far is "Recalculating"
aka....we made a wrong turn.
The picture above is of the houses of New York, it is exactly like the movies. They are small, tall houses that have zero space between them and their neighbors. Which is fine because just like the movies, they sit on each others porches and probably converse about the silly white people in the car with the gps stuck to their face.
We even saw a real Orthodox Jew. {no offense intended}
Because we arrived so early in the morning and because we were in the slums of new york, we got to drive around everyone going to work, kids going to school, lots of trucks making deliveries, and shops opening for the day. VERY COOL!! It was crazy to watch little kids who weren't older than 7 or 8 walking to school by themselves across very busy streets...that would never happen in Utah.
Also, we didn't see a white person until we got to D.C.
At first, you are so excited because you get to cross famous bridges and its a gorgeous view....and then you get to the other side and see these...
They are a freakin gift-shop-fund-drainer. SOOO annoying. The first one coming out of New York going into New Jersey is the worst at $14. Crazy people.
After finally finding our way out of New York we made a journey across 4 states.
Back east, you can make cross-state trips in a matter of hours in not sooner. It's crazy how close they all are. No wonder people live in New Jersey and work in New York...there is a HUGE difference.
This is Baltimore. Very beautiful city!
Funny side note: if you didn't already notice, when I looked at this picture on my computer I noticed the street sign...."Gay St.".....awesome.
After finding our hotel in Baltimore, we headed to Washington DC!!! Literally 30 minutes from our hotel.
Capitol Building.
White House!!! I about passed out thinking I was really in front of the White House!
The Jefferson Memorial.
Tips if you go to Washington D.C.:
1) If you drive in find the nearest 'public parking' sign and go in. You will end up somewhere you don't want to be if you go around trying to find something cheaper. We went to the ones on 6th and 10th (10th=right by Ford's Theater)
2) You DO want to walk everywhere because every other form of transportation is just ridiculously high priced. So make sure you find the nearest Smithsonian, museum, etc. that has a map. You will be incredibly lost without it.
3) You have to do the "Big Bus Tours" especially, if you can, the night tour. It is a red double-decker that starts when the sun is setting making for beautiful kodak moments as well as the grand finale of the Lincoln Memorial all lit up at night (pictures of that is on my mom's camera) Also, tell Miss Michele hi from the Georgians.
4) You cannot possibly have time enough to see everything unless you spend at least 3-4 days there. For short trips, do the bus tour!
5) I would suggest going with a grown male. Especially when it starts getting dark, it starts getting sketchy.
I know your all wondering about the story of how I ended up being known as the girl from Georgia by Miss Michele. So here it is: Miss Michele is the bus driver for the tour and has that heavy black-easterner accent. My mom was wearing a shirt with my brothers baseball team's logo on it which just happens to look a lot like the Braves logo.
One thing after another and I realize that she is telling her partner "hey these are my georgians" and naturally I feel pretty cool so I just roll with it haha. She is very cool and for the three hour tour where she thought I was from Georgia...I was too.
Well that was just Day 1.
I'll post day 2 and 3 tomorrow...Goooooooood night!









2 comments:
Keep blogging away and say whatever you would like, because it is your blog. Besides, we like history more than you may think - give us some credit :)
Awesome!! Who all is in back east with you?
Post a Comment