Saturday, March 31, 2012

Date for One.

Growing up, the goal is to just be 'in'.  Have a group of friends that you are with at lunch or in the hallways.
The people that you sit with when you have classes together and you definitely need a group for the weekends.

And when you DON'T have this group...a figurative spotlight is on you and you find anyway to act as if your friends are coming or to get out of 'the spotlight', which in most cases is the lunchroom. I know you know what I'm talking about. We all do it.

Even now that everyone is graduated and supposedly 'grown up', people do not like to go and do things alone.
Examples: How many times have you gone to a movie by yourself?
How many times have you been in an elevator, hallway, etc. and pulled your phone out to look as if you were busy with something instead of striking up a conversation or making eye contact with someone you don't know?

Point proven.

It happens everyday.
Everyone does it.
It's not like we're not friendly people, its just how society has raised us.

One of my good friends will go out by himself every once in a while.  Literally go out to dinner and a movie all by himself.
First thought: What a loser. Why wouldn't you want to bring friends? And how embarrassing would it be to show up to a restaurant and ask for a table for one??

Second thought: WHY NOT?? Why can't people go out by themselves? Get over yourself, Marlisa.

So I did it.
Welllllll, I did it halfway.

I went to a baseball game....all by myself!

Everyone...well, most everyone, has those days that you just feel like being alone.  Not necessarily to sulk or feel sorry.  But just because you don't feel like going out and socializing.

This was one of those days. I couldn't seem to find someone to go with me and so as I was thinking of other alternatives a thought came to mind.
"Why does everyone else have to decide whether you go or not?"
Psh.
So I went. Me, myself, and I in all my glory got in the car, bought some seeds and went to the ballpark.
I like to think that some people were looking at me because I'm oh so beautiful....haha jk. I know people wondered what I was doing there all alone and I bet people were even making excuses for me because going out by yourself is just not kosher. They were probably thinking that I had a brother or boyfriend on the team and that I would talk to him after and I was there to support.
False.
I enjoyed it so much.

Next step is going to a movie by myself.
I don't think I'll go to restaurants by myself...thats a little far.
But I'm proud of the big step I made outside the box as small as the outting was, I'm glad to have seemingly broken a society trend. And before people start thinking that I'm going gothic or 'unique' on everyone...I'm still Marlisa :)

Remember this post?
Well it relates. I dare you all to spend time with yourself this week. Find what it is that makes you, you. If you can't hang out with yourself, like love yourself, how do you expect anyone else to? To clarify, I'm not talking about being full of yourself. I'm talking about being confident and rocking YOU.

"If your trying to be like someone else, who's going to be you?"

Happy General Conference Weekend!

No comments: