Wednesday, November 30, 2011

To be good is not enough....

....when you dream of being great.


Yesterday I had an epiphany.
Actually just an attitude change.

I have been on the onrey side of the mood spectrum lately
and yesterday I had a moment of
"Who are you? Just be happy."

What happened to cause this?
I got upset with somebody for stealing....wait for it...
MY GARBAGE CAN! (from my office)
Seriously? Who am I?

So as a crazy lady once said in a sunday school lesson...
"attitude adjustment...turning you down."
yes..an adult woman said that to someone in my sunday school class.
Talk about speechless.

Life really is good though.

We had 5 dogs on the peremisis at one time for a week.
Including this beast below (the one in the middle, the other is my brother).
Just call us the dog house.

I love this girl.

Show 'em them U's!!!


Sunday, November 27, 2011

Old people are so funny!

Today I went to church with my grandparents
My grandma was giving a lesson in relief society and currently has mono
so I went to help her do her hair and get to church.

She is my hero.

She never complains and she has every reason to.
She has kidney failure, went through 10+ years of dialysis, a kidney transplant, a heart transplant, and even some seizures.
To this day I do not know a better cook.
Expect her to go above and beyond everytime we visit.

So after she gives an awesome lesson we start to head home
She said that she was going to go back in and find grandpa and just come home with him.
As we were waiting in their driveway for them to get home,
my grandpa pulls up....without my grandma.

We left grandma at church.

On top of that I had to go to the bathroom SUPER bad and the doors were locked.
Due to the laughter, I could not wait until they got home.
Luckily there is a gas station close by haha

So my grandpa went back to get her, when she got home she said,
"I was telling everyone my family is at home and laughing at me."
Yep we were.

Other funny quotes from old people throughout the day:

"I feel meaner than a junkyard guard dog" - grandma's neighbor

Grandma: "Why are you wearing your temple tie?"
Neighbor: "Is that what this is?"

"Oh that is salt again dummy." - grandma talking to herself


hahaha I love my grandma!
Happy late Thanksgiving everyone!


Sunday, November 20, 2011

2011-12 Sophomores

The 2011-12 season has officially begun!

I was itching for it and I am still loving it, I really have a good team this year.
For the first time ever in Lady Cavemen basketball history (in the past 10 years)
we have a foreign exchange student from Japan!

It is awesome, SHE is awesome!
She doesn't speak/understand english very well so half the time during practice I'm literally speaking jibberish to her.
But because she is so awesome she just watches for a minute and picks it right up.
To help make her feel included we have started naming our plays in Japanese...so far we can only say
"Ichi" = one
"ni" = two

haha all other words are a little complicated.

We killed the freshman but our first real game is on tuesday, let the season begin!

Sunday, November 13, 2011

My fight against unanimous cheering

First let me define unanimous cheering:
When a group, crowd, etc. practices or any other type of preparation for a cheer that is done unanimously by this group, crowd, etc.

Obviously I'm talking about cheering in sports {clarification: not cheerleaders -- the crowd/players}

Now I don't mind the normal "De-fense", mascot chants: eg. "Lets go Cavemen"
{for all those who might be outside of Utah -- yes, I am a Cavemen from American Fork High School}

But when you start making rhyming cheers just from imagination...that's most annoying.

Let's take the best/worst example of this unanimous cheering
SOFTBALL
Oh, boy.
Heaven help them.

Even when I was little and played, I hated and often refused to cheer.
Because of that I was critisized for not being a 'team player'
Don't get me wrong, softball the actual sport is awesome!
But this:

"Our team is hot, hot, hot.
Your team is not, not, not.
We're gonna win, win, win.
Your gonna lose, lose, lose."

is not awesome. yes, that is a real cheer.


This video is both hilarious and embarrassing.
It's ok if you don't make it through all the rules of being a byu fan.
I wouldn't either.



2 Teams that are KNOWN for this:

UCLA & BYU.

Ucla has their student body officers stand on a podium with a microphone.
When it comes time for a cheer they tell them which one and then count to 3 for them to start.

Byu's video speaks for itself.
P.S.
They sing popcorn popping on the apricot tree......

For those of you who just got offended because it is your passion,
just stop. Stop right now.

Learn how to cheer for your team without rhyming, a countdown, or anything like the above videos.

Ok carry on.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

That awkward moment when...

So I just have to share this awkward/funny moment I had yesterday.

I am one busy girl and part of going from place to place requires a wardrobe change.
So I was leaving basketball practice and heading to school when I needed to change from my shorts to sweats due to the ever decreasing tempertures.

I had already taken my shorts off at a light but it turned green so I had to wait until I got to the school parking lot to put the sweats on.

TAKE NOTE:
I WAS WEARING LONG SPANDEX

So I was not completely indecent.

I park in the free parking lot which is pretty far from the school and at night it is not crowed at all.
I pull in lean over to grab my sweats on the passenger seat and realize there is a kid in the car next to me studying....

big "UHHH....." moment...for both of us haha

Well there is no covering this up..my thought process:
"Crap, I could just back up but that would just be way too obvious that I'm trying to get away"
"I have spandex on it's not like I'm in my underwear...wait, he probably thinks they are garments (because they are white)"
"eh, screw it I need to get to class"

Hope he did good on his test.

On another note..
Basketball has begun :)
Soooo stoked!

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Something you didn't know about me.

I danced for 8 years of my young life.
I had to choose between sports and dance when I got older.
The one I chose is obviously apparent.

But I haven't stopped missing dance since.
I love it.
I love the expression and beauty of it.
I love how you dance in every mood your ever in.

Its beautiful.

Ever since I heard this song I have had an ACHE to dance again
or at least to this.


LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

{big sigh}

If you have an idea of where I can satisfy this urge..please do tell below :)