Sunday, December 28, 2008

In a Hick Town!

Only in my hick family will you..

*find Grandkids begging for another tractor ride

*find yourself in a debate about beets and liver

*know what 'Carrie-isms' are

*know where Carrie even is

*have the recipe for rhubarb cake

*know every possible way to make potatoes

Only in good ole' American Fork..

I saw this the other day in the school parking lot and just had to smile because I wasn't that surprised...


..I was jealous.

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Get the Facts

Fact: I should be studying right now
Fact: I'm excited that it's almost over!
Fact: I'm still missing someone
Fact: I love history
Fact: There is snow outside!
Fact: Christmas is almost here!
Fact: My brain needs to hire more brain cells so I can get everything in my head straightened out.

Fiction: I'm so not happy with life. :)

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Need a laugh?

So we (Brock, Holly, Hailey, and me) were heading up to Fairview to find some cabin where our basketball team was holding their retreat. It was such a long drive to get there in the first place and then we started getting directions from a grandma. (no offense against grandmas)
So we get to the first gate and you have to have a code to open it..instead of just telling us the code she tells us to wait for someone to come along and follow them in. So we sit...Its not like we were gonna remember the code and drive down and raid her cabin! Finally someone comes and we get through. So now she tells us to drive until we see a pond and then turn right. Keep in mind it's pitch black outside so we aren't going to see a stinkin pond. Oh well so we start driving..oh and she does say that there will be about 2 inches of snow. We just keep driving trying to find it because by now we have lost reception and can't call her. We are now driving in 2 FEET of snow..thank goodness for 4-wheel drive..and decide to turn around and go back down the mountain so we can call her. These are her exact words:

Grandma: Did you pass a meadow?
Brock: We past a lot of meadows.
G: Ok your gonna want to turn right at the pond after you've passed the second meadow.
B: After the pine tree on the right?
G: Yes.
(Bursts of laughter from everyone in the car)
G: Have you seen a white truck?
B: Nope. No white truck.
G: You must've passed it.
There was no sign of life anywhere by the way..
B: Ok we will just start looking again.
G: Ok just remember after you see the pine tree on the right there will be some snow and then you will pass a second meadow where the pond is and that is where you turn right. After you turn right there will be a dip in the road that goes down and then back up and you'll also cross a creek. You can't miss it.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! Oh man, I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard! It was great. Oh and luckily we did find the white truck and just followed him there. Adventure? I would say so.

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Excuse me...

...thats Coach Hardman to you. haha jk. But yes I'm coaching for reals now! Before I was just coaching some seventh graders in volleyball....[deep breath]. But now I'm coaching the sophomore girls basketball team at American Fork High. I absolutely love it! I forgot just how much I LOVE basketball! I have been so happy lately because of it, which helps a lot when no letters or emails come :(. I am so so lucky I got a very talented group right off the bat. They are gonna dominate.

Oh...and one more thing...

I LOVE ALL THIS RAIN!

Friday, November 7, 2008

How bout them Utes?!




..bring on bama!


haha ok so maybe we aren't THAT good but seriously, i'd put our defense against anyone in the nation right now.


Utah vs. Tcu=one of the best games ever!


I know I totally said the same thing for the utah-oregon st. but this one was right up there with it. Oh man I could talk about it all day but I won't. Next victim: San Diego St.

George baby..

So this past weekend I went down to St. George and spent some time with some friends that are down at good old Dixie. I had a blast and it was just what I needed...a getaway! On Halloween me and Emily went crazy!! But hey your allowed to be sometimes right? Thanks Emily and April for letting me crash for the weekend!
haha classic..

Not really sure what we are supposed to be

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

I'm sick..

..of byu fans. (beware: anger moment) Today one of my friends came into work with one of his buddies. When they were walking out he said to his friend, "She's a Utah fan. How embarrassing huh?" I laughed cuz I've been taking crap my whole life but this..(rolling of the eyes). He said some stuff like "oh. Yep were done with this store...and so on and so on" Ok, so thats not that big of a deal but you just had to be there. I hate how byu fans think they are better than everyone else. No, I know not all are like that but definitely the majority are. Just because they are the 'Church's' school doesn't put you above the rest. Ugh..lots of years bottled up..whew.

..of a certain manager who we will call Augustus for safety purposes. haha. As I opened the tills up at work this morning like a good little cashier is supposed to, I found a note taped to the counter. It had all of the new procedures cashiers were supposed to follow. For example: I was to answer the like so..."Thank you for calling Parks Sportsman. How may I direct your call?" I was also supposed to say 'hi' to customers once when they walk through the doors and then again when they got to the counter. Another was I am supposed to talk to our salesman in a business-like manner.
Complaints:
1) My job is to help the customers also, not just dish the work off to other hard-working people. Direct your call-no. Help you in anyway I can-you bet.
2) You don't say hi to the same person twice in one visit. Once you greet them, you now have to get to know them and saying hi everytime doesn't help the relationship move along.
3) Salesmen=friends. If we are on a friendly-like basis its easier to get to know us as a customer and it's just a more comfortable environment.

..of being sick of things. So we'll end on a happy note... I'm thankful..

For temples.
For family.
For friends.
For little things that make you smile.
For tulips that blossom right after snow.
For missionary work.
For sunshine that follow cloudy days.
For my Grandpa.
For the Founding Fathers.
For little sisters.
For cushy chairs.

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Im an addict..

OF...


Chocolate! mm, mm, good!

Sunshine,

Letters from my missionary!!!

..Smiling and Laughter..
Temples but especially the SLC Temple,

Curling up in a warm, fuzzy blanket and watching movies,
AND
Wedding Websites/Pictures!
(even though I'm not getting married for a while haha)


Sunday, October 5, 2008

Beautiful Fall!

So my Sister and I went for a drive yesterday and I was able to get some pretty shots! It was so much fun! Oh, and sorry about the date in the corner, I was too lazy to photoshop. :)


This is my favorite, I think.
I really liked this puddle for some reason!









Utah vs. Oregon St. 2

My favorite player! Stevenson Sylvester! I was smiling so big after meeting him...
The uprights that Louis Sakoda kicked through to win the game!





This game was so much fun! I almost lost my voice...p.s. I've never lost my voice, probably cuz I talk to much haha oops.
Go Utes!


Friday, October 3, 2008

Utah vs. Oregon St.!



This game was definitely one to remember!
More amazing pics coming soon!

Go Utes!

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Hey! Im M-A-R-L-I-S-A. (MAR-LEESA if you want to impress me by saying it right the first time) I'm so loving life right now! Except for the whole homework part of life everything is starting to look up..finally! Its been 11 days and 1 letter since my boy left me for his mission. The first week was so so hard I couldn't believe how people actually go 2 whole years but now I'm starting to get the hang of things. Here's my findings...Monday=mail day=the best day of the week! Tuesday=Send a letter back. Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday=wait as patiently as possible for the next letter, wondering what he'll write next.

My mind is always drifting to the future, imagining all the things we talked about. It makes me so excited and will help me so much to get through the 2 years. But I have so much to do before he gets back! I need to get as much school done cuz someone is going to have to support him when he gets home.

Im so loving two girls right now who help me so much through this! Stephanie...her's left a month before mine and has helped me through, telling me how everything goes and being there! The other is Ali. She doesn't even know she's helping me and I haven't even seen her for such a long time but she's a little further into this waiting thing. I secretly go look at her blog and read about her experiences and things and it makes me excited to get to where she is! Thanks guys!!